On Japan

I was going to write about my first week back in school. I had some musings on school life here in Korea, and some thoughts on food for my cousin. But.

Last night reports of the earthquake and tsunami started to pour in, and luckily I was able to hear from friends in Japan who are safe. Not everyone is.  Their nuclear reactor’s core has been breached and that is going to be troublesome for a long time after the initial cleanup has been completed.

When I was young I didn’t understand how living in interesting times could be a curse.  Who wants to live in boring times? But as I get older, I have come to value safety and comfort.

I have been amazingly lucky in my life. I don’t know what it is like to lose family or friends to natural disaster. I don’t know what it is like to lose my home, my security, my health.  I am reminded just how blessed I am, as I wish for blessing on those not so fortunate.

Before we are distracted by the latest faux outrage and celebrity’s train-wreck, there are people who are out there everyday, working to alleviate suffering around the world:

The International Red Cross and Crescent : http://www.ifrc.org/

Doctors without Borders : http://www.doctorswithoutborders.org/

And if you are feeling small and helpless in the face of such tragedy remember this guy and his friends have already taken over the world.

 

 

One Response to On Japan

  1. Scholarships for Minorities…

    […please consider link exchange to benefit web ratings..]…

Leave a Reply

