Brrrrrr. (and a murderer) and some warm fuzzy feelings

I say that because it is damn cold. Bitter, bitter, bitter cold.  But still I did manage to go out and wrap presents for some orphans. Yes, my bah humbug self actually got a little into the Christmas spirit. One of the long-term ex-pats in the neighborhood decided to do a toy drive for an orphanage in the area, and I saw it on facebook and decided to participate.  I surprise myself sometimes.  It was fun, and although I won’t go to the orphanage and distribute the toys I do feel a bit warm and fuzzy inside for buying toys and wrapping  them.

But it was cold outside. Bitter, bitter, bitter cold. So I’m happy I don’t have anything going on today, and can chill. I plan on finishing a knitting project and drinking hot chocolate. Lots of hot chocolate.  I think my students will probably be pretty mellow as well. Their finals are finally done.

Today I didn’t expect a single student to have the mental capacity to do much, so I decided to play a game.  I don’t play games in the classroom very often. I’m not a fun teacher, although I do like my students to enjoy my lessons, I don’t consider entertainment as part of my job description.  However, the day after finals, the week before they go on a field trip to Jeju island I think a game is ok.(why didn’t we have such cool field trips when I was in school? – all we did was go to museums)

So I have a few favorite games, and I usually let them decide which games. The two chosen were “5 words” and scatagories. 5 words is really quite simple, I have the students think of and call out 5 random words. Then they have to use those words in a dialog or skit.  When they do their presentation, the other students have to clap when they hear the words.  (I usually leave them up on the board to make it a bit easier) – if I hear the word, but the students don’t clap, I win. I make them do a very silly dance.  I rarely win.

The other game we played was scatagories. Basically I just put them in teams, then write  fruit/vegetable, animal, person (not a name), city (not in Korea) and country on the board.  I then have them write one word in each category that starts with a letter.  So we are playing along, and I always try to mix the alphabet up (it keeps them on their toes), and I put the letter M on the board.  Well, one of the students had Mango, monkey, murderer,  Madrid and Moscow. Now since Moscow is not a country they didn’t win, but it warmed the cockles of my heart that my rather dark sense of humor has rubbed off on them.

The year is over, winter camp will begin, but for the most part I have to say good-bye to these students (only a few will be in my Advanced English class for 2nd years, and even fewer will be in my winter camp) – I really enjoyed teaching these young women. I always feel a little bit better about the future, knowing they will be a part of it.

And if you ever wondered what a day in a Korean students life is like, someone did a video. Although it is short, I do believe he got the essence of the matter right.

http://www.youtube.com/e/bniwLF4hYHQ

 

One Response to Brrrrrr. (and a murderer) and some warm fuzzy feelings

  1. john says:

    OMG I could do with one of those right now…. nice and smooth.

Leave a Reply

