Happy Thanksgiving again

It’s that time of year again, where most Americans eat too much, and watch games on TV and spend time with family and friends.

Korea doesn’t really celebrate Thanksgiving (they have, however, embraced Christmas) but many in the ex-pat community do, even if they are not from the U.S.  This Thanksgiving I’d like to take some time to give thanks for all the things I have, because when I think about it, I’m really quite lucky.  I have so much to be grateful for.

I’m thankful for my family, although they live far from me, they are always close to my heart.

I’m thankful for my friends, and the wonderful people who surround me, the people I’ve stayed in touch with.

I’m thankful for the people who although have only passed through my life, have left me a better person for having known them. Even if it was briefly.

I’m thankful I have a job that I love, and that pays enough for me to live well.

I’m thankful for all my co-teachers.  I learn so much from them, and they have done so many small things that make me feel welcomed. I feel like I belong and their everyday kindnesses are something I cherish

I’m thankful for my students. They smile at me in the hall and make the classes fun. I love the way they think, and the things they do in class. They keep me from being cynical.

I’m thankful I have a clean and warm place to live (ok, it isn’t that clean right now, but that is my fault)

I’m thankful I have somewhere to go for and share a feast with this weekend.

I’m thankful I live in city that has so much to do, and so many opportunities to learn something new.

I’m thankful I have had a good life, with adventure and joy.

Sometimes, life really is good.

 

Leave a Reply

