tids and bits

In no particular order.

It is definitely fall. The air is crisp and the wind now has quite a bite. The sky is clear and the leaves are changing making the mountain look like a patchwork quilt.  I love it. However I am debating whether or not to turn on the heat. On the one hand, warm floors.. mmmm. on the other, it really does get very hot very quickly.

I’ve been wanting to do a bit of knitting at work, but I’m going to be way too busy. I am finishing up the directions for all the worksheets in my workbook. (I just found out the school might even pay me! I really didn’t do it for that, but if it is true, bonus) I will also be working on the second year’s writing workbook. They won’t actually have the book in their hand, but I would like to organize the worksheets and next year have a real writing portion of my class.  – I also need to get an essay written about co-teaching in Korea and I’ve gone a bit insane and signed up for http://www.nanowrimo.org/ Yes I will try to write 50,000 words of a novel in one month. Whew. I’m tired just thinking about it.

In other news, the first years are having their speaking test next week. It means I don’t have to prepare for classes, but it also means that the testing season is upon us. That means the students are somewhat less than attentive in class. Today they had a major math test after school. I didn’t know it was a biggie, so when my students would sneak working on their math in class, I got a bit angry. I think it bothered me so much because usually this was a great class, that usually works pretty hard in class. So I told them I was a bit disappointed. After class, one of the teachers said “oh, they have a huge math test today” Well. I felt pretty bad. So the next class I made a deal with the students, if they worked hard and really worked, not just filled out the worksheet as fast as possible, I would let them have the last ten minutes. They still couldn’t concentrate on English. Sigh.

I haven’t decided what to do for winter camp yet. I still have two months, but I like having a theme. I’ve done “The Wizard of Oz” and “It’s Murder! in the summertime”  The theme has to be interesting, plus I have to be able to make activities and worksheets that the students can use and enjoy. I want my camp to be fun. At least that is what I try to do.

And as I said before, I’m learning how to knit. I don’t understand how I can make a mistake on every single project. It really is simple.  Sigh. Perhaps my novel for novel-writing month could be about a gremlin that gets onto knitting needles and messes up things.

Leave a Reply

