flamenco, a festival, but no fortresses.

Yes. I do like alliteration, why do you ask?

I was going to see Sangre Flamenca on Thursday night. But. I was tired and it was raining. It was raining hard, a deluge that made wanting to go back  out once I made it home somewhat problematic. So I took a rest.  Friday it rained some more, and I didn’t go salsa dancing. I braved the rain a bit, but my friend canceled, so I went back home. It rained Saturday morning, but I was determined to see the show. So I braved the rain, but by the time I left for the theater, the rain had lessened to a depressing drizzle.

I’m so glad I went. I’m also glad I went to the matinée, because the evening show was sold out.  The theater was beautiful, and fairly close to my house, at the back entrance to Children’s Grand Park. I got nosebleed seats, but I could see most everything. Unfortunately they wouldn’t let me take pictures. Actually it made concentrating on the dance much easier.

The dancers were beautiful, and passionate. The opening had everyone on the stage, and the music was plaintive and haunting (I asked for the soundtrack, but they didn’t have any CDs)-  The second act had one woman dancing with both the stars – two men.  When I usually think of Flamenco, I think of a beautiful woman, back arched and eyes flashing with pride and disdain. I also assume the guitar player is her lover.  I don’t know where I got this image from, but the dancers on stage disabused me of all preconceived thoughts I may have had.   Angel Rojas and Carlos Rodriguez were the stars (they are also the choreographers) – Angel Rojas did an incredible solo, that took my breath away – It was energetic and passionate and beautiful. I like to think I have a good grasp of words, but really I feel quite inadequate describing the movement.  – Carlos Rodriguez followed with his solo, and then the whole company took the stage again. There was also a duet by the singers, and a solo by the violinist.  I felt both exhausted and energized by the show.

I had always thought Tango was the sexiest dance, but I’m now undecided. Flamenco is certainly in the running.

I’ll let you decide.

Sunday I had originally planned to do a city hike around the old fortresses around Seoul. Part of the hike would have gone behind the blue house ( the Korean equivalent of the US white house). But when I woke up, you guessed it.. it was raining.

But by 10:30 the rain had stopped and the weather was almost good.  I had made plans to meet a friend/ math tutor in Gwangwhamun, but she had to postpone by one hour.  I decided to wander around a bit, and what did I find? A festival.

Along the Cheonggyecheon river there was a festival celebrating traditional handicrafts and food. Two of my favorite things!  I walked around and sampled some food, took a bunch of pictures, and even tried my hand at beating material to make it soft.  After I met up with my friend/math tutor for coffee, then we went down to Kyobo bookstore, where I should not be allowed to go with a credit card, and walked down to Insadong, one of my favorite places in Seoul.

Despite a rather glum and depressing start to the weekend, it turned out pretty good. Now I have to go and do my math homework and my Korean homework.  sigh.

For your enjoyment, pictures of the festival.

and yours truly

2 Responses to flamenco, a festival, but no fortresses.

  1. home tutors says:

    hi i like the blog very much.

  2. Julia says:

    well, at least you saw it on youtube in the comfort of your own home. it was a win win situation

Leave a Reply

