This, that, and another thing

So I decided to try the skit kits out in my classes ( even though it is far along in the workbook I’m working on).  I was a bit nervous, because although the students have had dialog worksheets, they haven’t done a full dialog themselves with all their own language. I gave them an envelope that had 5 words in it, then had them use the words in their dialog.  The only rule was that they had to use all the words at least once.   I wanted them to tell a story, have the whole thing be one skit, but some of the groups decided to use the words in several different skits.  It worked surprisingly well.

As a teacher I’m constantly trying to keep a balance between control and freedom.  I need a certain amount of control in the classroom, mostly because 30 + high school girls are not going to spontaneously start speaking English without some guidelines.  At the same time, I know the Korean teachers are working hard to give them lessons in grammar and vocabulary.  I don’t really see myself as the grammar and vocabulary teacher.  What I want from my students is for them to produce their own language.  I want them to communicate with me and with each other in English.  I know my low-level students are not going to be able to do much (although I was very happy with them today, some of the groups came up with some very clever skits) but I want them to work together and I want them to feel my class is where their attempts at English are respected even if it isn’t the most correct.   I need to find tasks that are interesting, and allow them to speak, and keep them on task, but at the same time I want them to have enough freedom to feel confident.  I only hope I succeed more than I fail

I’ve studied Korean before, but not in a class. This is the first time I’ve taken a language class since university.  I hope that not only will I be able to communicate with some of my co-workers better but also understand more of what works and doesn’t work in the class room.  I like the teacher a lot.  She doesn’t speak much English, but she manages to help a bunch of people with various levels of pathetic Korean understand what she wants us to do.  So far so good (although I only did so-so on the first quiz) I have a newfound sympathy for my students.

And in other news, it is official. I’ve signed on for one more year.   At least  I signed the contract.  I’m looking forward to a continuation of the adventure.

One Response to This, that, and another thing

  1. Breda says:

    Sounds like a good game! I’m supposed to teach drama camp this summer, and I am planning to do something like this, but I’m worried if it will work. It’s good to read that it worked well for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

