Off and On

I walked along the street near city hall and noticed that they were having a celebration.  This is not unusual, plus it is spring and I was feeling pretty celebratory as well.  Then I noticed the music.  It was Arirang.  Now, Arirang is the kind of unofficial national anthem.  It is one of the saddest songs ever written or sung.  At the celebration they I almost didn’t recognize the song because they decided to “update” the performance.  They made it into a pop song.  Now, I don’t want to be imperialistic and I really don’t think I have any right to say what another culture should do or not do.  And yet.  (You knew there was a ‘And Yet’ in there, didn’t you)– Arirang as a pop song with k-pop dancers? That is just … well, I guess it is their song so they can do whatever makes them happy.  It just doesn’t make me that happy.

This is the way I think the song should be played

Now I have a confession to make.  I lasted exactly 3 days. Sunday was my downfall.  I went downstairs and bought a pack. Smoked one cigarette.  Then I put the cigarette out, threw out the rest of the pack.  I did this six times. Six.  I feel like such a fool.  But I am not daunted. I quit again. And so I’m now back on the wagon.  A friend of mine said that it is all a journey. That I should be in the now.  She also said it was hilarious that I went off the wagon.  Six. Times. I am somewhat less than amused.

So back on the wagon.  And the knowledge that the only way there is through, and it isn’t the destination, it is the journey.

Leave a Reply

