You call this work?

All the teachers in our high school had to go to a weekend workshop. At least that is what they said we would have to do.  In reality we left Friday morning to the East sea. All of us climbed aboard two buses and took off.  It was quite organized.   When we arrived we settled into our rooms, then had two workshops.  Now, I don’t know if the workshops were interesting or boring. I don’t speak Korean and the whole thing was done in Korean.  I read my book.

After the two and a half hours of workshops we went to dinner.  Keep in mind that our school isn’t a party school.  Some schools do have beer in the second floor teacher’s lounge, and when they go to lunch booze is always part of the package. My school isn’t like that. My school is more a hiking/dancing/ activities school.  I kind of like it that way.  But this time our school became a drinking school. The booze flowed freely at dinner and then we all went to noribang- or karaoke.  I sang two songs and a duet to “Nobody” by the Wonder Girls (one of the most popular songs right now) with my co-teacher.   My vice- principal danced.  I have to admit to being a bit shocked because although he is a very nice man, he always seems so serious.  It was good to see the teachers let loose a bit.

Everyone woke up early, and I was surprised at breakfast because no one seemed hung over, and they were raring to go.   There were two groups, one went to the beach and one went to the mountains.  I chose the beach. I was not surprised that my co-teacher chose the mountain. She is an avid hiker. All the beach goers went in one bus and all the mountain hikers went in another.  I found out that my seat mate is going to be my new co-teacher.  Actually I have 5 co-teachers in the classroom, but I have one co-teacher for everything else – schedules, getting information, problems with my apartment, where to get things, etc.  Ms.Choi will be my new co-teacher and since she sits next to me she has been informally doing these things anyway.

So we drove about 15 minutes to get to the beach, and walked up a small mountain to Nam-ska temple.  The temple had burned down recently so they are re-building it.  My co-teacher apologized because it wasn’t ancient, but since it is a working temple I didn’t think it mattered that much.   I even found out that you could do a temple stay there if you like.  I think it would be interesting and I made note to myself to find out more about it in spring.

After we climbed up to see the giant  Buddha statue we walked down to the Beach.

This is for Raymond:

The food–

fish roasted with hot/sweet sauce and side dishesvarious side disheseven more side dishes

Leave a Reply

