On movies and the bitter cold

Last night my co-teacher and I went to a movie again.  We decided to do a movie night every other Wednesday. That way we could still have free time, but since we both like movies we would be able to catch most of the ones we wanted to see.

We saw “Avatar” –  it was pretty good. Sigourney Weaver plays a tough but compassionate scientist who fights the evil industrial/military people who are trying to exploit a distant planet.  The military commander was suitably evil, and the special effects were spectacular.  The only complaint I had was that it was a bit too much “noble savage” in its story arc.  However, the special effects were spectacular.  I said it already, but… they really were.

I wanted to walk home after, but my co-teacher and the foreign teacher at our middle school were both saying it was too cold. It was cold, but not that bad.  Unfortunately today it is that cold, and for some reason, my floor is not heating up properly.  Burr.  I guess I’ll throw on another layer.

Today I got busy at work.  The students are all finished with their final exams, and the winter break starts next week. Guess what? The students don’t want anything to do with school. Yeah, their bodies are in the chairs, but their minds are somewhere far, far, far away.  We are playing games, of course.

In the teacher’s office I’ve been keeping myself busy preparing for the winter camp.  At first I was going to base my lesson plans around the Navajo code talkers of World War II, but when I mentioned it to some of the students, they first gave me a pained look, then a very fake smile, and said, “yeah that is interesting”  They really do try to be nice.  I then said, “What about the Wizard of Oz?”

Their little faces lit up. So guess what, all the prep I did for the “Code Talkers” camp is useless.  Fortunately there is a lot of material about the Wizard of Oz.  I’m going to have them listen to “Tin-man” from the 70’s group America, and “Good-bye Yellow Brick Road” from Elton John. I’m trying to get scenes from “The Wiz” and Sci-Fi channel’s “Tin Man”  I can download the whole movie, but I want to show scenes and then talk – write about them.  I think at the end of camp we should watch the original with Judy Garland.  I also printed out the original book by Frank L Baum from Guttenberg project, and I’m going to make them write their own story based upon the books/movies.  I think it will be fun.  At least I hope so.

Leave a Reply

