Cake or death?

I gave my students what I thought was an easy choice. Do you want to study? or. Do you want to play a game?  I thought it would be an easy choice– game. Duh.  Well, not these students.  They wanted to study.  I kind of understand, as these are pretty good students and next week is the final exams.  Unfortunately I should not do this again, as the principal would rather we did not give free study time during class.

So now, I ask.. Do you want to play a game?  We are playing Vocabulary Bowl, and it is really surprising which classes do well and which classes don’t.  Some of my better classes didn’t do as well as some of my medium classes.  But that is ok, the point was to help them study vocabulary for the test.

I’m quite looking forward to finals, I plan on using my time semi-wisely. I have winter camp and I decided that is when I’ll make up the lesson plans. I’ve decided to do one based on the movie “Windtalkers”   We are going to study Native American cultures, codes, and WWII.  I think it will be pretty interesting. At least I hope so.

I finally finished my TEFL course, so now I’ll have some free time to do fun things.  I feel as if I’ve held myself up for so long that I don’t really know what to do with myself now.  I’m kind of out of the loop with a lot of the people I used to hang out with, so now I have to re-build the relationships.  I think I should be able to do so.

I did go to see a movie tonight.  One of my co-workers, Ms. Che and I went to see Rain in Ninja Assassin.  We both agreed that it was very violent, and Rain’s body was well worth wading through the blood.  I quite liked the movie.  It had a lot of action, in a silly comic book way, and I think the plot, although standard kung fu revenge, was interesting enough.  I liked the special effects and the ninjas were pretty scary.   A good escapist movie, if not really a “good” movie.

All in all a very good week so far.

Leave a Reply

