Yeha, woot, scream, more screams

I’m typing away on my lesson plan for next week, when all of the sudden an eruption of sound issues from outside. There is a gauntlet of 1st and 2nd year students cheering on the 3rd year students. The 3rd year students will take the SAT on Thursday, so the rest of the school came out to cheer them on when they left early for home and all the last-minute studying you know they will be doing.  Here in Korea the SAT is mandatory, and it is a big, big, big deal. I think it is kind of cool that the students cheer each other on big deal things like this.

In class, one of my students used the should/shouldn’t construction perfectly.  “Class-mates, you should concentrate on me now”  she said before giving her presentation.  They have come up with some pretty good presentations, and I’m always really happy with them.  I am looking forward to their speaking test next week ( just the 1st year students) and you know, reading the news makes me feel grumpy and misanthropic, but teaching high school makes me feel very optimistic. I have some very cool students.

One of my 2nd year students has been chosen to represent the school in a national speech contest. I am helping her, and the topic she chose is “Women Leaders” She is going to make a case that women will make better leaders in the new century.  It makes my heart go all gooey and warm.

Sometimes, life really is very good.

3 Responses to Yeha, woot, scream, more screams

  1. Todd says:

    That sounds cool. Your students presentation option reminds me of a store display I saw on the way home. Women rule the world. A female mannequin had 5 leashes attached to 5 smaller male mannequins.

  2. Lydia says:

    The SATs like the American SATs? Or just similar name?

Leave a Reply

