Remember When.. and pumpkin pie

not relevant, but pretty

not relevant, but pretty

Remember when you couldn’t wait to be able to stay up.  It was a special treat (I’d sneak down and watch Monty Python on the TV).. Yeah I really am that old.   It is 8:10 pm as I am writing this, and I can’t wait to go to bed.  I am totally beat and it is all my co-teacher’s fault.

It’s mid term so all the kids and the teachers are finishing early.   Today, all the Foreign language teachers went together to VIPs for the salad bar.  I, of course, ate too much.  The soup was really good.  The tacos, were… how should I put this…. interesting. I know corn is a Mexican staple. And I am no longer upset when I find corn on my pizza.  But.  Corn does not belong in taco meat.   Since the sour cream on Sunday wasn’t really sour cream, but frozen yogurt, I should just feel grateful that the sour cream and guacamole was real. Sometimes food doesn’t translate well.  However sometimes local variations are pretty awesome. Case in point, pumpkin salad.  It is similar to potato salad, but with pumpkin.  Now I would have never thought to put pumpkin and mayonnaise together, but here it works pretty well.

After lunch, my co-teacher and I went for a bike ride.  It was supposed to be leisurely.  Ha.  We went to her apartment, and I borrowed her husbands bike.  We started quite slowly and leisurely, but there were two very large, very steep hills.  Co-teacher was truckin’.  I was sweating. I was crying.  I felt so pathetic.

We started out around the Han river. I have to admit it was beautiful.  And there was a  nice cool breeze.  Then we went to Olympic park.   Now that is a nice bike riding area.  We were not alone in the assessment, and I loved how everyone and their grandfather were out and about, strolling, walking, jogging, biking, and rollerblading along.  We continued around the park, then went along the Han some more, then continued across a fairly scary bridge.  Co-teacher was truckin’.  I was sweating. I was crying. I was panting. I continued to feel pathetic.

However.  The ride really was fantastic, and I can’t wait to go again.  I want to find out how to get to the river ride near my apartment. Apparently there is a secret tunnel.

After our ride, co-teacher took me back to my apartment and I met up with the other foreign teacher at our school (I’m high school, and she is middle school).  We went to the awesomeness that is Costco.  Now I realize that grocery shopping is not under ordinary circumstances an entertaining or special evening.  But.  I live in Korea, where the food doesn’t always translate.   We found— non flavored yogurt, frozen veggies (a rare treat here) and …….. PIE.  Pumpkin pie to be exact.  It looks perfect.  I can’t wait to get started on the awesomeness that is pumpkin pie.

One Response to Remember When.. and pumpkin pie

  1. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

